Editorial Board


To contact the Editors-in-Chief, please email editors@health.embs.org.

Atam Dhawan

Atam Dhawan, PhD

Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Executive Director of Undergraduate Research and Innovation, Interim Vice Provost for Research, New Jersey Institute of Technology.

Clifford Dacso

Clifford Dacso, MD

Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology and Medicine, Baylor College of Medicine; Distinguished Research Professor, College of Technology and Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen University Professor, University of Houston.

Managing Editor

Kara McArthur

Kara McArthur

Senior Editor and Program Director, Abramson Center for the Future of Health.

Ruth B. Tatar Student Editor

Murtaza Saifee

Murtaza Saifee

Medical student at Baylor College of Medicine.

Associate Editors

Soumyadipta Acharya

Soumyadipta Acharya, MD, PhD

Assistant Research Professor of Biomedical Engineering at Johns Hopkins University.

Cesar Bandera

Cesar Bandera, PhD

Assistant Professor of Management at the New Jersey Institute of Technology and is Co-Founder of Cell Podium.

Paolo Bonato

Paolo Bonato, PhD

Assistant Professor of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation at Harvard Medical School.

Matthew Dacso

Matthew Dacso, MD

Director of the Center for Global Health Education, Associate Executive Director of the Coordinating Center for Global Health.

David Fenstermacher

David Fenstermacher, PhD

Chief Research Information Officer, Virginia Commonwealth University.

Martha Gray

Martha Gray, PhD

J.W. Kieckhefer Professor and former director of the Harvard-MIT Division of Health Sciences and Technology (HST).

Hossam Haick

Hossam Haick, PhD

Professor of Chemical Engineering and the Russell Berrie Nanotechnology Institute at the Technion – Israel Institute of Technology.

Yakov Ben-Haim

Yakov Ben-Haim, PhD

Professor of Mechanical Engineering and the Yitzhak Moda’i Chair in Technology and Economics at the Technion – Israel Institute of Technology.

Jennifer Jackson

Jennifer Jackson, MBA, CCE

Director of Clinical Engineering and Device Integration, Enterprise Information Services (EIS), Cedars-Sinai Health System.

Gerald Kost

Gerald J. Kost, MD, PhD

Founding Director of the Point-of-Care Testing Center for Teaching and Research at the University of California, Davis.

Abbas Kouzani

Abbas Kouzani, PhD

Associate Professor of Microsystems Engineering and Director of BioMEMS Group at Deakin University.

Anant Madabhushi

Anant Madabhushi, PhD

Director of the Center for Computational Imaging and Personalized Diagnostics (CCIPD) at Case Western Reserve University.

Anurag Mairal

Anurag Mairal, PhD

Director of Global Exchange Programs at Stanford University and Co-founder and Executive Vice President of Orbees Medical.

Silvestro Micera

Silvestro Micera, PhD

Associate Professor and Head of the Translational Neural Engineering Laboratory at the EPFL.

José del R. Millán

José del R. Millán, PhD

Defitech Foundation Chair in Non-Invasive Brain-Machine Interface and Associate Professor at the EPFL.

John Oghalai

John S. Oghalai, MD

Associate Professor of Otolaryngology and Pediatrics at Stanford University School of Medicine.

Dorin Panescu

Dorin Panescu, PhD

Senior Director for New Product Development, Intuitive Surgical, Inc., Sunnyvale, California, USA.

Louis Phee

Louis Phee, PhD

Associate Professor and Acting Head of Mechatronics and Design in the School of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering at Nanyang Technological University Singapore.

Luca Pollonini

Luca Pollonini, PhD

Assistant Research Professor of Engineering Technology, University of Houston, Texas, USA.

Valentina Quaresima

Valentina Quaresima, PhD

Associate Professor of Biochemistry at the Medical Faculty of the University of L’Aquila, Italy.

Richard Reilly

Richard Reilly, PhD

Professor of Neural Engineering at Trinity College, Dublin, a joint position between the School of Medicine and School of Engineering.

Dustyn Roberts

Dustyn Roberts, PhD

Assistant Professor of Instruction, University of Delaware, USA.

William Scanlon

William G. Scanlon, PhD

Director of Research – Digital Communications, Chair of Wireless Communications, Institute of Electronics, Communications & IT at Queen’s University, Belfast.

Shankar Subramaniam

Shankar Subramaniam, PhD

Chair of the Bioengineering Department at the University of California at San Diego, USA.

Kenji Sunagawa

Kenji Sunagawa, MD, PhD

Chief of Cardiovascular Medicine at Kyushu University Hospital in Fukuoka, Japan.

John P. Tomaszewski

John P. Tomaszewski, JD

Seyfarth Shaw LLP.

Srini Tridandapani

Srini Tridandapani, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor of Radiology and Imaging Sciences at Emory University.

Bernhard Weigl

Bernhard H. Weigl, PhD

Senior Technology Officer and Portfolio Leader for Non-communicable Disease Technologies, PATH.

Ting Xia

Ting Xia, PhD

Reconstruction Scientist, Toshiba Medical Research Institute.

Youseph Yazdi

Youseph Yazdi, PhD, MBA

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Business at Johns Hopkins University and Executive Director of the Johns Hopkins Center for Bioengineering Innovation & Design.

Nicola Zetola

Nicola Zetola, MD, MPH

Assistant Professor of Infectious Diseases at the University of Pennsylvania, Penn Center for AIDS Research.

Zhilin Zhang

Zhilin Zhang, PhD

Senior Research Engineer, Emerging Technology Lab in Samsung Research America–Dallas.

Junior Associate Editors and Student Advisory Board

Olufemi Adeluyi

Olufemi Adeluyi

Chosun University, Republic of Korea

Forrest Bao

Forrest Bao

Stony Brook University (SUNY Stony Brook)

Brian Burkhardt

Brian Burkhardt

Virginia Commonwealth University

Miguel Craig

Miguel Craig

Medical student at Baylor College of Medicine.

Olumurejiwa Fatunde

Olumurejiwa Fatunde

London School of Economics and Political Science

Mohamad Forouzanfar

Mohamad Forouzanfar

University of Ottawa

Shivanand Guness

Shivanand P. Guness

University of Kent

Ahmed Haque

Ahmed Haque

Rice University

J. Bryan Iorgulescu

J. Bryan Iorgulescu

Weill Cornell Medical College

Francesca Jarrett

Francesca Jarrett

Albuquerque High School, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Avinash Konkani

Avinash Konkani, PhD

University of Virginia Health System

Paolo Melillo

Paolo Melillo, PhD

University of Bologna

Ada Orrico

Ada Orrico, MD

Second University of Naples

Luu Trieu Phat

Luu Trieu Phat

Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Salvatore A. Pullano

Salvatore A. Pullano

University Magna Graecia of Catanzaro, Italy

Dennis Robert

Dennis Robert

Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur

Carlos Sarmiento

Carlos Sarmiento

National Institute of Neurology and Neurosurgery, Mexico City

Peng Shao

Peng Shao

University of Alberta

Andy Tran

Andy Tran

Harvard University

Tong Zhang

Tong Zhang

University of Sydney, Australia

Scope Statement

We focus on innovative solutions to healthcare needs from biomedical engineering, clinical engineering, and medical communities that bridge the engineering and clinical worlds. JTEHM's unique scope is original work at the intersection of engineering and clinical translation.

The journal’s focus is interdisciplinary collaborations among researchers, healthcare providers, and industry. We publish results and best practices from these translational efforts and serve as a community hub for researchers, clinicians, and developers who are addressing challenges in technology development, commercialization, and deployment for better global healthcare. Our ultimate goal is to improve the practice of engineering in translational medicine and to serve as a focal point for the nascent community. Our interactive content includes video, lively commentary, blogs, and other features to engage our clinical and engineering communities.